PhiloSonia Inaugural Concert

PhiloSonia Presents its Inaugural Concert with a Program of String Quartets

Saturday March 19th, 2016 7:30pm
The Old Stone House
336 Third Street, btw. 4th/5th Avenues,
Brooklyn, NY 11215

PhiloSonia presents selections from its upcoming inaugural season in 2016-17 in its opening cocnert titled Revelations.
Revelations features String Quartets written at various turning points in each composer’s life. The program includes movements from Beethoven’s Op. 59 (the pastoral opening movement of number one and the brilliant finale from number three); the second and third movements from Mendelssohn’s haunting String Quartet No. 6, Op 80 in f minor; the finale from Smetana’s biographical “From My Life” and the second movement of Schubert’s monumental “Death and the Maiden”, from which the quartet takes its name.
The performers include four Juilliard School graduates – Stanichka Dimitrova, Igor Pikayzen violins, Chieh-Fan Yiu, viola and Adrian Daurov, cello